World Cup 2018 Group C: Fixtures & standings

first_imgWorld Cup World Cup 2018 Group C: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on France & Australia group Cady Siregar Last updated 1 year ago 17:15 6/26/18 FacebookTwitterRedditcopy Comments(0) Kylian Mbappe France 2018 Getty Images World Cup Australia France Goal brings you all the details of the Group C fixtures including fixtures, standings and squads for France and Australia There are high expectations for France as they are a team full of endless talent – featuring the likes of Kylian Mbappe, Antoine Griezmann and N’Golo Kante – though a Christian Eriksen-led Denmark may prove to be a challenge.Les Bleus, however, recently drew in their friendly against the U.S. National Team and Didier Deschamps will be hoping that his side will be rejuvenated during the actual tournament final.Goal take a look at the rundown of the Group C fixtures ahead of the June start, as well as what to expect from each team and more. Article continues below Editors’ Picks Perfection from Pulisic: Chelsea’s Captain America has arrived in the Premier League Why always Raheem? ‘Unplayable’ Sterling setting a standard Man City’s other stars need to match ‘There is no creativity’ – Can Solskjaer get Man Utd scoring freely again? ‘Everyone legged it on to the pitch!’ – How Foden went from Man City superfan to future superstar World Cup 2018 – Group C Fixtures Date Fixture Time Venue June 16 France 2-1 Australia 11am UK / 6am US ET Kazan Arena, Kazan June 16 Peru 0-1 Denmark 5pm UK / 12pm US ET Mordovia Arena, Saransk June 21 Denmark 1-1 Australia 1pm UK / 8am US ET Samara Arena, Samara June 21 France 1-0 Peru 4pm UK / 11am US ET Central Stadium, Ekaterinburg June 26 Australia 0-2 Peru 3pm UK / 10am US ET Fisht Olympic Stadium, Sochi June 26 Denmark 0-0 France 3pm UK / 10am US ET Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow France kicked off Group C with a memorable first use of VAR at the World Cup, with Antoine Griezmann’s initial penalty calls being waved away before the referee split opinion by giving a spot kick after checking replays.Australia scored from a penalty at the other end after a Samuel Umtiti handball, but Paul Pogba scored the winner to give Deschamps’ side a 2-1 victory.Peru’s poor finishing cost them any points in their opener against Denmark, despite playing with impressive pace and attacking intent, with the Scandinavian side triumphing 1-0.Denmark took the lead in their second match against Australia, with Christian Eriksen scoring with aplomb from just inside the box, but a Mile Jedinak penalty – the second in as many matches – levelled for the Socceroos. The match finished 1-1 in Samara, leaving both teams with a shot of qualification for the last 16 heading into the last match.Kylian Mbappe tapped in the solitary goal for the Bleus as they saw off a plucky Peru side, who were eliminated with a match to go with the 1-0 defeat.Both France and Denmark qualified for the last 16 after playing out the first 0-0 result this summer, with Les Bleus occupying the top spot already heading into the final fixture.Australia were eliminated from the competition after losing 2-0 to Peru, who already bowed out.World Cup 2018 – Group C Table Standings Pos. Team Pld W D L GD PT 1 France (Q) 3 2 1 0 2 7 2 Denmark (Q) 3 1 2 0 1 5 3 Peru (E) 3 1 0 2 0 3 4 Australia (E) 3 0 1 2 -3 1 World Cup 2018 – Group C Squads France’s 23-man squad: Alphonse Areola, Hugo Lloris, Steve Mandanda; Lucas Hernandez, Presnel Kimpembe, Benjamin Mendy, Benjamin Pavard, Adil Rami, Djibril Sidibe, Samuel Umtiti, Raphael Varane; N’Golo Kante, Blaise Matuidi, Steven N’Zonzi, Paul Pogba, Corentin Tolisso, Ousmane Dembele, Nabil Fekir; Olivier Giroud, Antoine Griezmann, Thomas Lemar, Kylian Mbappe, Florian ThauvinAustralia’s 23-man squad: Brad Jones, Mat Ryan, Danny Vukovic; Aziz Behich, Milos Degenek, Matthew Jurman, James Meredith, Josh Risdon, Trent Sainsbury; Jackson Irvine, Mile Jedinak, Robbie Kruse, Massimo Luongo, Mark Milligan, Aaron Mooy, Tom Rogic; Daniel Arzani, Tim Cahill, Tomi Juric, Mathew Leckie, Andrew Nabbout, Dimitri Petratos, Jamie MaclarenPeru’s 23-man squad: Carlos Caceda, Jose Carvallo, Pedro Gallese, Luis Advincula, Pedro Aquino, Miguel Araujo, Andre Carrillo, Wilder Cartagena, Aldo Corzo, Christian Cueva, Jefferson Farfan, Edison Flores, Paolo Hurtado, Nilson Loyola, Andy Polo, Christian Ramos, Alberto Rodriguez, Raul Ruidiaz, Anderson Santamaria, Renato Tapia, Miguel Trauco, Yoshimar Yotun, Paolo GuerreroDenmark’s 23-man squad: Kasper Schmeichel, Jonas Lossl, Frederik Ronow; Simon Kjaer, Andreas Christensen, Mathias Jorgensen, Jannik Vestergaard, Henrik Dalsgaard, Jens Stryger, Jonas Knudsen; William Kvist, Thomas Delaney, Lukas Lerager, Lasse Schone, Christian Eriksen, Michael Krohn-Dehli; Pione Sisto, Martin Braithwaite, Andreas Cornelius, Viktor Fischer, Yussuf Poulsen, Nicolai Jorgensen, Kasper DolbergWorld Cup 2018 – Other GroupsWorld Cup 2018 Group A: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on Russia & Egypt groupWorld Cup 2018 Group B: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on Spain & Portugal groupWorld Cup 2018 Group D: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on Argentina & Nigeria groupWorld Cup 2018 Group E: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on Brazil & Switzerland groupWorld Cup 2018 Group F: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on Germany & Mexico groupWorld Cup 2018 Group G: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on England & Belgium groupWorld Cup 2018 Group H: Fixtures, standings, squads & full details on Senegal & Colombia grouplast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *